Powerbook or iMac G5?

B

Bohemian

I am looking to get a new computer for Christmas. My budget is ~1200 dollars.

I found two good deals on the refurbed page at apple.com.

I'll copy/paste:

Refurbished PowerBook 12-inch 1.5GHz Combo Drive

512MB DDR333 SDRAM
60GB Hard Drive
NVIDIA GeForce FX Go5200 (64MB DDR)
AirPort Extreme
Bluetooth 2.0 + Enhanced Data Rates

and

Refurbished iMac G5 1.8GHz/ 256MB/ 160GB/ SuperDrive/ 56K/ 20-inch

256MB DDR400 SDRAM
160GB Serial ATA Hard Drive
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 Ultra (64 MB DDR)
Price: $1,149.00

OK. Some background. I currently own an IBM Thinkpad T23. I don't like it, and it's *literally* falling apart (there are two cracks in it). I am a Harvard University student majoring in psychology. My true passion lies in philosophy and physics, therefore, I do use Mathematica and ugh, Matlab.

I like to look at pictures, and watch DVDs (when I have time). I do a little photo editing, nothing major. I like burning CDs, and when I have enough money, I plan on getting an iPod. 160GB of storage is not enough for my multimedia needs - I will be purchasing external ~300GB HDDs (if you can recommend one, that would be nice :))

I'd like to get into some video editing. I'm pretty artistic (and autistic :p - seriously), so I enjoy the multimedia parts of the computer.

So, up to this point, I'm sure you'd recommend the iMac. Right? The Powerbook is OK, but I think the screen is too small. I can still bring the Thinkpad with me to classes, and transfer the information over via scp (my Thinkpad runs FreeBSD 5.4).

I like OS X, and I use it at my dad's house. He has a Mac Mini, and I notice the sluggish performance. I guess the only drawback of getting the desktop is sitting in an uncomfortable chair and not being able to sit in bed with the laptop. But, I suppose this can all be rectifed by purchasing a comfy, reclining office chair.

So, can you please give me your feedback on this matter. It is extremely urgent, as these deals go quick.