Website Development

Reaction score
Hi all-

I am new to Mac Forum and need some general direction on where to go with my question(s). I developed my own website using iWeb and have since started writing everything in html. I want to create a discussion board on my site but am very unfamiliar with php/cgi and really need some help getting started.

1. How do I create a board where people can post comments? I do not want to use a 3rd party template for this.

Any and all help, feedback and direction will be very much appreciated.

-wk

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
That's a lot of work for someone just starting out with PHP. You'll need to learn how to use databases and sessions amongst others. While you develop that (which could take a while), might I ask why you don't want to use a third party solution?

OP
W
Reaction score
Hey there-

thanks for responding. Well, I guess you have already begun to answer my question by saying its a "lot of work." I was wanting to see what kind of task i would be taking on by trying to create my own forum, and how difficult that would be. Basically I want to have a clean and custom developed message board without having all of the 3rd party garble. I feel like requiring people to login to a "discus" or "intensedebate" steers people away a lot of times because they don't want to give out email and subscribe to some unknown 3rd party.

The main thing I am wanting to discover is what are the first steps I should be taking to make this happen, and if I am going to need some schooling or private consultation to make this happen.

thanks.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA