Is it just me? with osX

B

ByHisGrace

Is it just me or does everyone have trouble with osX? i'm a newbie so forgive my ignorance. But i can't seem to be able to find anything to use with osX. everytime i try to DL limewire or various other programs i need version 10.2 or 10.4 its kinda frustrating. is my only option to upgrade? what do you guys suggest? :eek:neye:My version is 10.0.4

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
Your version of OS X is almost 5 years old now. You are correct in stating that you are going to have a difficult time finding apps for that version. Your best bet would be to upgrade to at least 10.2.8. You can search the auction sites (eBay, Yahoo!, etc) for a retail version of 10.2 and that would get you in a better spot for finding more apps.
You can also take a look at www.versiontracker.com or www.macupdate.com for some freeware or shareware apps.

OP
L

lil

I wouldn't say everyone has problems as the amount using 10.0.x is very very few these days, most 10.0.x users upgraded to 10.1.

10.0 wasn't known as the 'public beta 2' for no reason sadly :( You will need at least Jaguar as pointed out, and depending on your system, I'd recommend Panther.

Vicky

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PowerMac G5 Dual 2GHz (June 2004), 2.5GB, Airport, black 5G iPod 30GB, white MacBook 2.0 2GB
I agree with Vicky.

Get at least Panther (10.3), as it is the first really mature version of OS X, in my opinion.

Reaction score
I still run Panther, didn't like Tiger.. My fans kept coming on using Tiger on my PB.. They never come on using Panther.

OP
J

jn4jenny

jram said:
I still run Panther, didn't like Tiger.. My fans kept coming on using Tiger on my PB.. They never come on using Panther.

Amen. I happen to be on Tiger now, but I think fo 90% of Apple users, Panther was sufficient.