Trying To Decide Between The MacBook Pros

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iPad 3rd Gen
Hey everyone, I'm looking for some advice on which MacBook I should buy. I've never used a Mac before, but my brother is a huge Mac fan and said I should definitely get a MacBook Pro. I'm going to college to major in media design, so he thinks the Air isn't going to quite match my needs. I have a budget of ~$2000, so with the student discount the baseline Retina Display is an option. I've tried it out at the Apple Store, along with the 13-inch and 15-inch regular Pros. Out of all of them I liked the Retina Display the best. I just really like the screen and the way it looks and runs. It was a lot faster than the others, but I'm assuming that has more to do with the SSD than anything else. However, I've heard people talking about various issues with the Retina Display version and that's sort of making me nervous about buying one. I have an external hard drive that I keep my music, movies, and pictures on so if at some point in time I need to send it in to be repaired or replaced that's fine by me. I'm just not really sure how that whole process would work, because I've heard some people say that Apple is quite reasonable about defective parts and replaces them quickly (or at least with minimal fuss) and I've heard others say that it's next to impossible to get them to honor the warranty. I know that the regular Pros are easier to work on, so I'm not sure if that should affect my decision. Mainly I just want a laptop that's fast (no problems there compared to the dinosaur I used currently), good for media, and will be fairly future-proof for at least 4 years. I'm fairly sure I'm going to buy the Retina Display, since I think it fits that pretty well, but I just wanted to ask if anyone had any thoughts on this, since I know next to nothing about Macs personally and my brother thinks any of them would work.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs