How much disk space do I need to run 3 operating systems?

Reaction score
I'll be getting me a macbook air, but I can't tell if I actually need the 256gb SSD, or if I can make do with the 128gb one. I don't know if the 8gigs of ram are necessary either.

What I want is to be able to natively boot into 3 operating systems, a linux distribution, mac os, and windows. I know emulation is pretty good and I will generally be using that, but I'm studying computer science and sometimes emulation adds a wild card and introduces behaviour which can result in unpredictable things and wrong conclusions...something I have already experienced with previous machines.

I have my eye on VMware fusion because it's cheap and because of how well it looks like it integrates with Mac OS. Ideally, I want to run both windows and linux on demand, so I also need to know if fusion actually supports this for whatever linux distro I end up using.

What I was thinking was, section the SSD into a 32 gig partition for linux, a 32 gig partition for windows, and a 64 gig partition for mac os.

Is that enough? This is a computer for schoolwork. I might want to run league of legends on the Windows partition, or potentially a bit of minecraft, but I think that's it. Everything else will be either programming or programs or virtual machines or data files. I have a bigass stationary for my entertainment.

Oh, and please don't tell me to get the 256gb one to 'be safe'. I don't have a lot of money. I'm a student; I'm much much safer with some money in my pocket than with a harddrive that I never use more than 30% of.

That said, I would absolutely love some advice from someone who's triple-booted with a similar type of setup.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey