Info on Switching

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I am a University student that plans on going either the computer science or health care route. I have been a fan of Apple software for a while, particularly the way it looks, feels, and runs.

Currently, I am using a very good toshiba laptop with windows 7, so it'll last me a few years before I have to replace it.

My questions pertain to how I would end up in a spot of advantage if I do indeed switch to a Mac when I need a new laptop.

1) Would I be alright as a software developer if I use a Mac? I know many companies only put their software out for Windows, so maybe they are trying to hire Mac developers for the growing user base?

2) How is the general feeling of satisfaction once you do switch? Do switchers general feel good about their decision? It is a rather large money sink, so I'd like to make sure that this decision isn't often regretted.

3) Is the Mac really just a "The grass is greener on the other side" kind of thing? Or are the differences actually purely positive?

4) How is the battery life of the Mac when in real life situations? Mine currently lasts much longer than the whole class day because I have a 12 cell battery, which I know you cannot really get on a mac.

5) Does it look professional? This is a big question for me because I really like to have a good standing when it comes to being just an all around professional looking person.

And that's about it for now. Thank you for your replies in advance.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac * 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7 * 16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3 * 1TB HD *AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB
1) There is a lively developer community for OS X. Many of my favorite applications for Mac are third party ones such as Quicksilver and Onyx. But you can always run Windows on your Mac and get the best of both worlds.