How come you can't open a pdf on a Mac on a browser?

Reaction score
So I am planning to get a mac, but since I've never used one before, i am using the big ones at my college as my lab rats.

So far it's okay, the reverse scrolling is annoying the **** out of me and the my shortkeys "ctrl-c" turning into "command - c" was also annoying because I can't use my pinky to hit the "ctrl" anymore.

Now sorry for getting off topic, but here is my question on the forum. I am using Mozilla firefox right now and whenever I go to a website with a pdf document link, I always have to "save/open" the file and then open it, which makes it very annoying as opposed on a PC, I have everything organized in one browser. How do i fix this?

Also how do I actually know that I didn't "quit" an application or file? Why does Apple have this feature? It's actually pretty annoying because I am sure I want to close this program, so why do I have to click "quit" again to confirm? When I am sure I want to close something, I am sure, don't need to ask three times

Thank you

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2013 rMBP, i7, 750m gpu, OSX versions 10.9.3, 10.10
Hi, welcome to the forums!

Safari will open a pdf right within the browser window.
Firefox you need to get the firefox PDF plugin for OSX ( https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/pdf-plugin-for-firefox-on-mac-/ ) .
The scrolling can be reversed back to "normal" in the System Preferences for the mouse.
To quit an application either press Command+Q or in the application menu (i.e.: firefox at the top drop down) select Quit Firefox

You know you've quit if on the dock there is either no icon for the application (if it wasn't in the dock to begin with) or if it's normally in the dock there is no little indicator light below the icon (see the finder icon for an example).

You can reassign keys although it's really better to just get used to how things are done on a Mac rather then trying to get it to work like windows :)

C

chas_m