Slowly...Very slowly!

Reaction score
HI

I'm a newbie here. I have a 2009 Mac mini (with an optical drive) and recently the SBBOD has been very prevalent even when I'm just running safari. According to my activity monitor I am using right now 1.03 GB of ram!

The mac is slower than an asthmatic ant with heavy shopping! (any blackadder fans will recognise the joke)

Would upgrading the ram help?

Many thanks:D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac (Mid 2011), 3.4GHz Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, 2GB Video Card, 2TB HDD
Possibly. A number of things can cause the beach ball of doom.

How much ram does your system currently have?

Some other things to check:

How much space is left on the system hard drive?
How many applications do you have running in the background?

Might be time to download and run Onyx.

OP
N
Reaction score
Hi

Thanks For replying

I have 2 gb of ram

I'm running nothing in the background.

I'll try Onyx.:D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
A full hard drive can also significantly slow your computer down. Try doing a cleanup and repair of your discs and if the machine is still slow, then up the ram.

Hope Onyx does the trick!

OP
N
Reaction score
Hi

Ran onyx and it worked...for a while. I've seen so many guides to upping the ram on the mac mini. I can upgrade them on pc's but i'm worried about breaking the mini. Can anyone tell me how easy/difficult to upgrade the ram themsleves?

Also how much ram can the mac actually take and use? I know officially the mini can take 3GB ram but what is the unofficial story? I don't want any unnecessary expense.

Thanks.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Hi

Ran onyx and it worked...for a while. I've seen so many guides to upping the ram on the mac mini. I can upgrade them on pc's but i'm worried about breaking the mini. Can anyone tell me how easy/difficult to upgrade the ram themsleves?