Safari Hanging

Reaction score
I am new to Mac and am a little frustrated right now. Over the past week or so, Safari has starting hanging every few minutes when surfing. The status bar at the bottom of the page shows "Contacting www.xyzwebpage.com", and it hangs at that point for several minutes. I can't determine any rhyme or reason to this, and it seems to do it on all types of web pages. It will eventually load the page after hanging up for up to 5 minutes. Other than the hang issue, browsing is extremely fast, but the hang issue happens every 5 or 6 clicks it seems.

I have tried many things to resolve, such as Reset Safari, Empty Cache, deleting Cache.db, deleting .plist files, using Onyx to clean, repairing permissions, turning off extensions, adding/removing DNS servers, recycling modem and router, etc. Nothing has worked. I don't think the issue is with my ISP as I just had them out to replace my modem, and everything checked out fine.

I'm at a loss and am almost to the point that I need to go back to my crappy old Dell laptop.

I have a MacBook Air, running OS X Lion version 10.7.4, Safari version 5.1.6.

Any help anyone can provide would be much appreciated.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3
I am new to Mac and am a little frustrated right now. Over the past week or so, Safari has starting hanging every few minutes when surfing. The status bar at the bottom of the page shows "Contacting www.xyzwebpage.com", and it hangs at that point for several minutes. I can't determine any rhyme or reason to this, and it seems to do it on all types of web pages. It will eventually load the page after hanging up for up to 5 minutes. Other than the hang issue, browsing is extremely fast, but the hang issue happens every 5 or 6 clicks it seems.