NTFS-3G error when connecting my new 500GB external hard drive

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am new to MAC and being used to windows finding it really hard to uninstall this third party software that i downloaded from CNET to be able to access an external drive that is formatted as NTFS.

After I installed this software: NTFS-3G for Mac - CNET Download.com
I tried to connect my harddrive and it has been giving me this error.

I then went on to remove this NTFS-3G application by dragging it onto the 'Trash' icon hoping this would uninstall it, but it dint.

I have googled this topic and found various forums giving ideas on how to remove it manually using scripts. I tried running these scripts on the terminal but these dint work as i am assuming these were meant for a different verison of NTFS-3G.

I have also removed the MACFUSE preference pane. I cant find any referece to NTFS-3G when I do a spot light search. I dont see anything related to NTFS-3G or Tuxera or MACFUSE on the system preference pane.

I have a MAC AIR running OS-X Lion 10.7.3

Can someone please help me remove this program. Any help will be greatly appreciated. All i want to do is be able to see the external drive when i connect it to the MAC so that I can format it to FAT32 as I need to use the hard disk with the MAC and Windows PC.

Error Message:
"NTFS-3G could not mount /dev/disk1s1
at /Volumes/TOSHIBA EXT because the following problem occurred:

dyld: Library not loaded: /usr/local/lib/libfuse.2.dylib
Referenced from: /usr/local/bin/ntfs-3g
Reason: image not found"

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to the Mac Forums.

As you found out, NTFS-3G is buggy and even in its paid format, has problems. Here is a link which explains how to uninstall it. However, it's not really for someone who may be unfamiliar with the command line.