Discovering if I have internet password

Reaction score
Hello, I am using the computer of a deceased relative and I want to find out if the computer is protected with an internet password. I don't want the bandwith available to neighbors. I am not a techie. The "AirPort" says "turn AirPort off" which I guess means it's on. Does this mean I am password protected? Can anyone give me some feedback? Thanks!

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I don't want the bandwith available to neighbors.

The computer does not control any "bandwidth"...access to your home network is controlled by your homes router...and there's no worries of your neighbors "leeching" your bandwidth unless it's a wireless router.

Thus what you need to do is figure out if your wireless router (if this is what you have) has a password to protect your home network. The deceased relatives computer has nothing to do with this.

- Nick

OP
S
Reaction score
Hi, Thanks for your reply. The computer does have a wireless router. What do I do next?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Hi, Thanks for your reply. The computer does have a wireless router. What do I do next?

Your computer does not have a wireless router...no computer has a built-in wireless router.

The router (or wireless router) is a separate piece of technology/hardware...located somewhere in your residence. If you do not have a wireless router...then you will have no wireless signal for the Airport hardware in this computer to detect.

If this is still confusing...I would recommend reading up on basic home computer networking:

A Typical Computer Networking Setup - For Dummies

- Nick

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey