17" MBP A1151
Hello,

I'm an engineering student.
I've got a 2011 17"mbp.
8gb ram.
Parallels 7
Windows 7 (32bit)
and I'm running Lion.

I've been running windows seven in parralels for about the last 7-8 months using Pro Engineer Creo package. (3d CAD)

I've allocated the maximum ram towindows that I can. Are you able to allocate more cores?

I find that when swapping between Lion and Windows while using Creo the picture will start to flicker in windows. Sections of the window will swap between black and the image it should show. Sometimes it's a pattern of pixelation. I'll try to get a screen capture of it. The only solution i've found for this is to swap to lion and force quit the program, sometimes the whole VM.

Sometimes the whole computer freezes adn teh only solution is a forced reboot. (holding the power button for 5 seconds)

These are all incredibly annoying. I've literally spent hundreds of hours using this program this year and it's become quite a chore.

Does anyone have any suggestions for a solution? Can this be fixed in the parallels settings?

Please let me know if you think I left details out.

Any solution is creatly appreciated. The semester is nearly over but I'd love to have this running smoothly for the summer.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Does anyone have any suggestions for a solution? Can this be fixed in the parallels settings?

You're probably not going to like my suggestion.....

It's always best when running any kind of CAD program or graphic intensive game to run it in native Windows not a virtual machine. Any time you run a Windows program in a virtual machine it has to rely on drivers supplied by the virtual software; in this case Parallels. Although Parallels and Fusion both have improved virtualization methods especially with graphics, it's still "not there" yet.

I would do two things: