Lots of files = extreme hard drive bog-down?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac (24" Early 2008) 3.06 GHz intel core 2 duo 4 GB 800 MHz DDR2 SDRAM NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GS 512 M
Hi all. Greetings and salutations. ;)

I've been thinking about making the switch for a while now, and I have a TON (figuratively speaking, of course) of questions before going through with it. But one question at a time. ;)

Will the OSX slow down to a near crawl like Windows does when there are a lot of big files on the hard drive? Like, when it's almost full? Now, I realize that ANY hard drive will slow down when there are many files on it, it's unavoidable. But I want to know if OSX behaves differently regarding this issue.

One point I need to mention... I am a complete Mac newbie. My only experience with it is playing around on a pretty 27" iMac in Staples for like, 5-10 minutes at a time. Please be gentle and give answers in a kind of Mac basics for Dummies format, please. :Blushing: Any and all answers are greatly appreciated!!

Do you need my Windows specs for this question or not?

C

chas_m

Will the OSX slow down to a near crawl like Windows does when there are a lot of big files on the hard drive?

No, unless you're keeping them on the desktop. Open trying to open them all in limited RAM.

Like, when it's almost full?

Yes. OS X needs lots of temp room to do its thing. You should keep at least 20GB or so free at all times, lots more if you're working with "big files" (HD video, lots of DVD burning, pro audio, etc).

Now, I realize that ANY hard drive will slow down when there are many files on it, it's unavoidable. But I want to know if OSX behaves differently regarding this issue.

You realise incorrectly. Given what I've said above, this will not happen on a Mac. The mere presence of large files has no effect on the OS's normal operation. This is because the Mac does not have a registry, thank Jobs!