Migration Assistant PC - MacBook Pro Help

Reaction score
Hi All:

I am completely new to mac (well, i used it as a kid when thats all they had in school and then it was just for playing that old frontier game) so I do not know how to do all the cool things I could on a PC. A business partner convinced me to make the switch.

I have attempted to use the migration assistant to bring over some of the basic necessary documents & pics from my old PC and will probably move the music & vids to an external drive since I have an SSD and its not very large (or try to figure out how to add another SSD or larger SATA fo that stuff)

Anyhow - i used the migration tool - it said it completed but I couldnt find anything so I came looking on here to see where my stuff went. I found out that it created a new user account... ok try to go into those folders to move the stuff over? I am not allowed... the new user was created as another admin. Ok, so I go log in as that user and share everything with my main user acct? Nope - its password protected and th credentials are different than they were on my PC. (it keeps telling me the password is expired but i need the "old" one to reset it and i tried most of the basic standard passwords which didnt work.

Ughhh... should I erase the user and all the stuff i moved over then to it a different way?

Thanks in advance for your advice... i really love my new MacBook Pro and looking forward to doing some cool stuff with it!!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Ughhh... should I erase the user and all the stuff i moved over then to it a different way?

The PC to Mac Migration Assistant (Windows Migration Assistant) is new to Lion so I suspect there may have been a glitch when you moved the items over.