Should I get an ipad ..or

Reaction score
I have a 13 inch 2011 MBA with the 128GB SSD, I'm tempted to get one of the new ipad's but am also tempted to buy a bigger SSD drive from OWC.

I'm really torn here.. part of me says to get the ipad & leave the MBA as it is because depending on what the next refresh offers I might sell it & upgrade.

Reaction score
Two different beasts.

If mobility or love of reading (Zinio or Kindle e-book) is a requirement, get Ipad

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
I have my MB, MBP, iMac, iPhone, and the newest edition the new iPad. I use my iPad when I'm lounging around at a friends house and while I'm in bed.

The others are used for school and work.

Depending on your computing needs you might be able to live without the MBA. I would do a test run before getting rid of the MBA all together.

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
Get the iPad.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 MacBook Air, i5 27" IMac, 2010 21.5" IMac, 2010 Mini, 2011 13" MBP, IPhone 4, Airport Extreme
I have the same MBA, you do and I purchased the third generation iPad, 3 weeks ago. No regrets.

OP
G
Reaction score
I have my MB, MBP, iMac, iPhone, and the newest edition the new iPad. I use my iPad when I'm lounging around at a friends house and while I'm in bed.

The others are used for school and work.

Depending on your computing needs you might be able to live without the MBA. I would do a test run before getting rid of the MBA all together.

Oh I have no intentions of getting rid of my MBA unless of course it's to sell it & use the money towards purchasing a new one when the line gets a refresh.

The retina screen on the ipad tempts me, I blog & being able to work with pictures on such a screen would be very useful to me.

OP
G
Reaction score