Bootcamp startup

Reaction score
I'm getting a message when I try to start bootcamp about the ntfs. It often hangs on the blue welcome screen. Does anyone have any idea? Why is bootcamp so fragile and nearly impossible to backup?

How do you backup bootcamp?

screenshot_01.jpg

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Nothing wrong with Boot Camp. It's Tuxera NTFS that's buggy. Get rid of it and instead purchase Paragon NTFS from Paragon Software. $19.95. LINK

Make sure you completely uninstall Tuxera NTFS first. Use their uninstaller.

OP
A
Reaction score
I tried Paragon NTFS and I get the same blue Windows 7 welcome screen that just hangs there forever. I have no idea why but that Tuxera error says something about it. Paragon just shows that the drive is there, nothing more.I've been using Tuxera on my Macbook Pro and iMac for two years and never had a problem.

However, I still have my bootcamp problem but it was worth a try. Thanks for your time.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
OK, understand. Let's try this:

If you can get Windows to boot OK, do this: Open a command prompt and type in the following = chkdsk c: \f

The system will tell you that it can't make corrections while Windows is active but will make them on the next reboot. Go ahead and reboot Windows and allow any corrections (if there are any) to be made.

If that doesn't work, there may be corruption that can not be resolved without doing a repair install of Windows. Back to Tuxera.... it is indeed buggy and has been known to cause file corruption. I'm not saying that's the reason you're getting the blue screen but it is suspect. Personally, I would not use Tuxera.

OP
A
Reaction score