Aperture vs Photoshop

S

sandals1621

Ok, Been using Photoshop since 94, but Aperture looks intirguing. I especially like how it handles RAW images (the format I work in a lot now with my D70).

So lets get a good discussion going for it. What does each have that you like or dont like???

OP
T

Tel

I don't think people should be comparing Aperture with Photoshop, they're totally different applications. I'm glad someone has finally made an application to handle the post-production side of things and by the looks of it they've done a good job.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac C2D 2.16ghz, 13" MacBook 2.0ghz, 60gb iPod vid, 1gb nano
I am just angry that my year old iMac can't even run aperture. It looks like a fantastic program and would have bought it in a second if I could run it

OP
S

Seamus

Being a professional photographer I dont think Aperature was meant to take Photoshops place or even compete.
When working in a studio enviroment, 99% of the time our cameras are attached to a Mac and we use software such as Phase Capture One and Leaf Capture to actually capture or take the photograph. I believe this is what Mac has intended with their Aperture software. The only drawback I see with Aperature, is that it doesnt support some of the higher end proffessional cameras such as the Phase H series or Imacon(now Hasseblad).

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Powerbook G4 • 24" iMac • iPhone 3Gs
Quick off-topic question to Seamus, doesn't Hasselblad now own Zeiss? Just curious and you seem to know your stuff.

On topic, comparing Aperture to Photoshop is comparing apple to oranges. They're not meant to do the same thing. Aperture and iPhoto are in the same boat, kind of. Compare Photoshop to Gimp.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
i dont have no mac's
i know nothing about aperture really but this is on the aperture website
"Round-trip Photoshop support