I am a mac newbie, please help!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac/OS 9.1
Hi there. A friend just gave us an iMac. The OS is 9.1, I have never worked on a Mac before but I have figured out how to move around in it. I am trying to get on the internet but I need to go wireless because it is in a separate room from my router for my desktop with WinXP and Laptop with Win7. So how do I get this computer to use WiFi? I was doing some research and I saw something about an "Airport" card. Is that what I need? I found "Airport" in the Mac and if says, literally, the thing is talking!, that the program is either disabled or there is no card. How do I know which it is and where does the card go, if that is even what I need?

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

BeehndBlueEyes

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
We need to know the exact model of the iMac you have. If it's running OS 9.1 then it's going to be a vintage model. If you can give us the model number, someone who knows about older models can advise you with regard to obtaining an airport card for it.

OP
BeehndBlueEyes
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac/OS 9.1
Thanks for answering chscag, I knew it was old. It's big and blue and the size of an old TV that someone might have had in their kitchen in my mothers time.
I copied everything I could off the bottom of it. Here goes...

M5521 DHHS Code CH
IMAC400/IN/128/10/CD/128P/56K/FW/VGA

When I saw 56K I knew how old it really is. I also have the Serial # and Ethernet ID #

IF I can make this think wireless, that would be great because it does have the "Airport" program in it and the guy said he was using it wirelessly, he just decided it was time for a new one.