Puzzled about the need to download Firefox??

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
IMac OSX Mountain Lion
New iMac 10.7.3. Please help me understand why I need to download Firefox?

Let me explain. There is a financial site where I need to view pdf files. Site states that I need Adobe Reader. I've downloaded the latest version of Adobe Reader, but still cannot view pdf files. So I called their customer support. They said I needed the Adobe Reader and Flash. I told them I had both. They then ask me what browser I was using, and I told them Safari.
The next statement was that I needed Firefox. WHAT???

Why would I need to download a new browser to view their pdf file? Safari, Preview, and Adobe Reader are sufficient to view all other pdf files in every other site.

I'm new to the Mac and don't want to "clutter" with stuff I don't need?

Thank you

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Just curious, what bank is this? Do you have their URL? That makes no sense. If you have Adobe Acrobat installed you should have no issues at all. Preview is usually just fine with 99% of all the PDF's out there.

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
You shouldn't need any of that - Safari has a built in PDF reader which will handle 99% of the PDFs thrown at it.

By the way, the Adobe reader browser plugin doesn't work with Firefox so I don't know what the person on the other end is talking about.

OP
E
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
IMac OSX Mountain Lion
Thank you for quick replies. I did not think I should need Firefox.

This is not a bank. It is Securities America.

I'm not going to download Firefox just to view their statements. I will demand they continue to mail them to me.

Thanks again.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6