Looking for iLife

Reaction score
Hi, all..... Super Newbie here. I've been a Mac user for all of an hour now :)

One of the reasons I was turned on to Mac was the iLife software that was to be included. I purchased my Macbook Pro on Christmas last year and so I consider it a "new" one, but I can't find iLife anywhere on it. iPhoto, yes, but not iLife. Can anyone help me?

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
iLife is not an application - it's a collection of apps (of which iPhoto is one). Take a look at this article about using iLife on a Mac that comes with Lion (scroll down to the "Restoring iLife applications after Internet Restore of OS X Lion" section which discusses how you "accept" iLife).

If you bought the machine brand new (from a retailer), iLife should be preinstalled.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac * 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7 * 16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3 * 1TB HD *AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB
Yes it's like Microsoft Office. There's no single program called Microsoft Office, it's a suite of applications that includes Word, PowerPoint, etc.

C

chas_m

The iLife suite included on new Macs includes iPhoto (awesome, but has just been out-awesome'd by iPhoto for iOS, so I'm hoping Apple will soon revise the Mac version), iMovie (again, awesome) and Garageband (extremely awesome). I believe they no longer include iDVD or iWeb by default, as these programs are no longer supported.

As substitutes (should you need them), I'd suggest Burn, SimplyBurns (both free) or Toast (not free, but extremely versatile) for iDVD, and Rapidweaver for iWeb (depending on your needs, a free web-hosted service like blogger.com or wordpress.com might also be a great option).

Reaction score
I have the same problem.

Straight from the assembly-line and my friend installed mountain lion on it and... PUF, none of the 3 main apps/programs are there... :(

(first hour behind a mac too)

chscag