Diving into the world of Apple in the next few months. I hope I can swim.

Reaction score
Hello, residents of Apple-land. I will be one of you soon.

I have a $1000 gift card to the Apple Store. On top of that, I have a $250 check which I am going to cash once I finish a data-entry job, hopefully within the next week or two. (I know, $1250 doesn't seem like much, but I can always do other jobs after I have that. Hoping not to do too many, though - this one was miserable!) Sometime after that, depending on the response I get from this post, I am diving into the great big world of Apple without really knowing how to swim once I get there. I

I have been assessing my situation, and I think I an iMac would be best considering my budget and performance needs. I asked someone at my local Apple store, and she agreed. But beyond that, I have no idea what I'm doing - I am a resident of the world of Linux! My Apple store has three or four different iMacs for sale, but I don't know which to get because you can never get a staff member to sit still and help there; they are very understaffed.

The iMac I buy should be able to handle HD video editing; the AVCHD files I will be working with are from a Sony HDR-CX110. Is iMovie at all similar, capability-wise, to Adobe Premiere Elements 8, or should I get FCP? I know nothing about either iMovie or FCP, but back when I was running Windows (shudder!) a few years ago, I was using Premiere Elements 8 reasonably happily. However, I'm not going back to those dark days - only Mac and Linux for me from now on!

I'm sorry for this long, incomprehensible post, but I don't really have any idea what I'm doing and yet am very excited at the same time.

Thanks,

#6c86ff

C

chas_m

Hello, residents of Apple-land. I will be one of you soon.

Welcome, I'm sure you will enjoy it, though it will be very different from Linux.