Photographer switching to Mac - help!

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a wedding photographer who has been using PCs since I was 5 years old. I know them like the back of my hand, but I've now reached the end of my rope in using them for business and would like to switch to a Mac setup for better performance and stability. And also because they're pretty :Smirk:

At the moment, I run a desktop PC with a 3.4Ghz(? or close to) quad-core i7 processor, 1GB dedicated graphics card, and 10GB RAM. I have a 500GB hard drive for my system files, along with another 5 hard drives (a combination of 2TB and 1TB) to house the different files I run. For example:

1TB - Admin files (documents, marketing, web development, general files)
2TB - Active work (i.e. work not yet provided to client) - RAW files from weddings + final JPEGs produced.
2TB - Archived weddings (2008-2010)
2TB - Archived weddings (2011)

I currently also use 3.5" hard drives slotted into Vantec drive docks (supposed to be connected through USB3.0 but my USB3.0 port is broken, so USB2.0 is what I'm stuck with). This method is a bit unreliable and I don't really like it, but it's been my only option for external and offsite backups, as I had trouble with a RAID setup last year.

For each calendar year of weddings, I need a 2TB hard drive to store the files.

I also have a Toshiba laptop, with a quad-core i7 processor, 1GB graphics card, 4GB RAM and 750GB hard drive. It's a nightmare though - despite being new, it gives me nothing but trouble.