Best method to create a photo slideshow?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP, 2 GHz i7, 4 GB RAM
While I am no pro, I am not an amateur. But, I have a task before me that has me sort of stumped as to where to begin.

I need to create a photo slideshow (still shots only will be used, no videos) for a wedding rehearsal dinner. Having these commercially prepared is quite expensive.

Right now I'm at the point that I'm editing the photos that have been scanned in by the bride's mother. Many of the photos are of the couple when they were youngsters (pre-digital camera era), so the photos need to be touched up quite a bit.

I have a MacBook Pro with iMovie and iDVD installed (I've used neither). I also have Adobe CS5, and am very proficient at Photoshop. I've made still photo slideshows for the web (going back to the day when Image Ready was part of the Adobe Suite and up to now) that I've saved both as .swf and .gif files. But that's been for websites, never for a DVD, which is what this format ultimately will need to be in order to run at the affair.

I also have Microsoft Office 2011. I know PowerPoint very well and know you can do some very crafty stuff with that program, but I've rarely worked with PP 2011 (only the 2003 and 2007 versions in Win format since I'm not a PP lover). We may or may not want music coupled with this show, since we may be playing it through a dinner, and that would be kind of distracting.

I'm going to have a minimum of 100 photos to use. I'd like some slides to have one photo and others to have multiple photos, and I'd like the option to insert text. I'd also like to choose my own background and borders around the photos.

Has anyone ever done this before? Suggestions? The wedding is this summer, so I do have some time. Thanks for any guidance.

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB