MBP 10.6.8 Cpu spikes

Reaction score
Hi. I have been using my macbookpro now for almost 2 years (2.53GHz i5, 4GB 1067 DDR3, Snow Leopard). The last couple of months I have been experiencing CPU spikes every 10-15 seconds or so. This means that when i play youtube videos or any other videos from firefox (or safari), it will freeze for about 2 seconds, and then start again. As I'm writing this message it also lags every 10-15 seconds or so. (This also happens when I'm not in a web-browser, or when I'm in safemode). I do not have any other hard drives then my macs internal.

When I open Activity monitor I see that when the spikes occur, Kernel_task, Windowserver, SystemUiServer, Loginwindow and some others are the ones that spikes to about 25% usage. Otherwise the Cpu is about 0-3%...

I have verified disk and disk permissions. Repaired it WITH the OS-Disk, but nothing has improved. The weird thing is that sometimes this problem does not not occur (It happens randomly). For instance when i use ProTools 10 (I had PT8 before) and I work with videos, or record guitar, vocal, softsynth +++ I do not have this problem.. The Video window does not lag at all... Even with a bunch of RTAS plug-ins wich do take a bit of ram and cpu, it is not a problem..

Is it possible that some cracked programs could cause this? I feel It's hard to pinpoint the process that is causing these problems, since so many are spiking in activity monitor..

I am not a mac-person when it comes to technical problems and stuff like that. I mainly use my mac for recording music and post production film use (I study to be a sound technician). I appreciate if anyone could help me fix this problem. I apologize for my English writing skills (I'm from Norway :))

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey