files in aperture

Reaction score
Hi, may sound a bit silly so please forgive me.
I have not been a mac user for very long, i have played around with iPhoto and have downloaded aperture, seems a really good program / app.

1)
My question is, am I right in thinking that no matter where I have my library / master files there never get touched and really the photos in the projects are short cuts?

2)
i have about 3000 pictures that are stored in the pictures folder in sub folders in year/month order if i import them into aperture will there still be in the original place as well, and then if I work/modify a few pictures where are these ones saved?

Sorry to be so dim.

Enjoying life with a computer that don't freeze up all the time, should have made the move from pc to mac long time ago.

Reaction score
Files in Aperture

Hi, may sound a bit silly so please forgive me.
I have not been a mac user for very long, i have played around with iPhoto and have downloaded aperture, seems a really good program / app.

1)
My question is, am I right in thinking that no matter where I have my library / master files there never get touched and really the photos in the projects are short cuts?

2)
i have about 3000 pictures that are stored in the pictures folder in sub folders in year/month order if i import them into aperture will there still be in the original place as well, and then if I work/modify a few pictures where are these ones saved?

Sorry to be so dim.

Enjoying life with a computer that don't freeze up all the time, should have made the move from pc to mac long time ago.

Hi there - Aperture uses non- destructive editing. Any changes you make to an image are stored in a file in the Aperture library, the image itself is not changed which means you can revert to the original image at any time.