Should I Buy a Mac?

Reaction score
Hi, I am currently a PC user. I own a Sony Vaio. I am a doctor in my country and use my notebook 45% for work stuff, 45% as a media station (blu ray, dvd, movies...) and 10% for gaming.
In 2000 I bought a Mac and did not like the experience: I could not work with it and the software I used could not be found for a Mac. So changed back to PCs after 3 months. Now I am considering once more doing the leap but I am afraid I might regreat, Here are my doubts:
- As I said, as a doctor I work with common stuff (word, powerpoint, etc..) but also I use software to reconstruct 3D images from CTs and MRIs. Those softwares can be pretty demanding for a computer, so I know beforehand I would have to get a Macbook Pro with a dedicated graphics card. Maybe because I am a doctor, what I can´t seem to understand is that looking trough the specs of a Macbook Pro (like, its Anatomy) it doesn´t seem mindblowing or cutting edge technology. I mean, maybe I am wrong, but it appears that there are several PCs that have more horsepower with a better price than a Macbook pro. So if someone could explain that to me I would be gratefull.
- Other thing is as I said, on my spare time, I like to watch movies and play some games. How is the Macbook Pro on those areas? How people that own a Mac can overcome the fact that it doesn´t support Blu Ray, or 3D movies? How do I can connect the notebook with my TV (it is my understanding that it does not have an HDMI outlet)? The games that I am playing right now are Skyrim and Modern Warfare. How does the Macbook Pro handle those games with an ATI 6770 (I think that is the graphic card in the machine)?
Hope to have some help soon.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
Why do you want a mac then?

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Like "louishen" asked...why do you want a Macintosh?