On the brink of switching...

T

trix213

I'm on a PC right now, but i need a laptop for school. I've heard absolutely nothing but good things about powerbooks and I'm doing quite a bit of graphic design (although nothing professional). and im amped to start playing around with garageband and stuff like that. (im just a multimedia junkie).

im not big on games...but i am big on photoshop and msn (not to mention firefox!!).

my question is: is it worth it to take the switch now? (nov 2005) Cuz im tight budgeted and if there's any christmas sales, im going to be pounding myself.

however tho, i've got student deals and im pretty sure (altho not positive...i am a freshman) that schools don't have sales on laptops.

furthermore, ther'es the whole MacTel thing coming out...but i also heard that there's not gonna be a 12inch...should i bother waiting? (or is that gonna be like next june)

But i've got a few other questions, some of them may be trivial, but im sure most mac users could answer them with ease....

1.can we use Windows Media Player? I doubt it but i don't like iTunes.

2.Does wma not work? I was on a school emac, and my blog had a wma file attached to it. It did not work. If it doesn't work, is there a simple way of converting the songs (that are in wma format) I have now into mac applicable formats?

3. Besides quicktime, is realplayer applicable? I have a LOT of rmvb files...and wmv and I really can't stand quicktime.

4. How much of my current programs can I keep?

I'm not big on games but i do have LIVE 2005, and starcraft :spook: (yes old school.) it'd be nice to keep playing those (although i rarely do so this isn't a big thing) Other than that, its Adobe programs, and Dreamweaver. I don't think i'll have any problems, but just to check...