I've looked all over for this answer. . .

Reaction score
I'm new to Macs, after being a longtime PC user. I am also a keyboard shortcut ADDICT. I've read a number of primers on switching to Mac to ease the transition, and I'm doing my best to learn to be proficient with the subtle differences. Of particular note is that I'm following the advice to let the Mac dictate things to me as much as possible at first, rather than trying to tell it how to do it's job at every turn. One example of this would be giving Safari a real chance (I've been a devoted Firefox guy for several years on PC). But one thing I haven't been able to figure out is how to use a keyboard shortcut to jump up into the URL editor in Safari. In Firefox and IE, this was and Alt-D command. I've found no translation to accomplish this via keyboard shortcut in Safari. Does anyone know if it can be done? I'd hate to forsake Safari over this, but believe it or not it may be a deal-breaker. If anyone has any advice, I'd love to hear it!!!

Thanks!

Reed

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
I just tried Command D, Option D ETC in Firefox on the Mac. No Editor comes up. Command D brings up a Bookmark save in both Safari and Firefox. Will check around and see what I can find.

I just checked a listing of all Firefox Hotkeys. What do you mean by URL Editor?

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac: 5K 27” (2020), 3.3 GHz, 32Gb RAM. iPad2, iPad mini4, iPhone 13 Mini, Apple Watch SE
cmd-L works in both Firefox and Safari.

The things you learn when you weren't really looking :)

C

chas_m

I find it surprising that a shortcut in Firefox would not be the same* (*barring the different modifer key) under both Windows and Mac, but there you go.

OP
T
Reaction score