Hello! First MacBook Pro

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" MacBook Pro 2.4
Hey,

I recently dumped my Toshiba Satellite and picked up a MacBook Pro (13" 2.4) with some extra funds that I had. I also own an iPhone, and I think using that on a daily basis turned me on to the idea of owning a laptop with Apples OS. So far I am loving it! I am a grad student so my Mac will be used mostly for school type things. I recently downloaded the free trial of Microsoft Office as I am still undecided as to whether I want to use Pages or Office (I will search this forum for threads on the subject).

Anyways, I just wanted to briefly introduce myself and say that I am looking forward to the information that I can learn from this site!

Thanks.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
late 08 macbook 2.0 4gig 320hdd10.7.3 32 gig iPhone 4s
Welcome aboard...You have come to the right place to learn about your new Mac. This is the place I started learning 4 years ago and it is still an invaluable tool for info.

Reaction score
I think you'll be loving your new Mac soon enough, especially if you've enjoyed using your iPhone in the past.

As for your decision between using Microsoft Office or iWork, personally I can say I prefer using iWork applications rather than Office. They just seem much cleaner and easier to work with. Since you mentioned you're in grad school, a primary concern would be compatibility in file types with what your fellow students and professors wold be using, which s mos likely Office. Fortunately, iWork applications have an export feature which will allow you to create documents, spreadsheets, etc from your iwork files that others can use with Office.

Reaction score