What is The Best Beat/music production soft wear?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13in MacBook Pro 2.8ghz i7 8gb ram, iphone 3gs 16gb, iphone 4 32gb, iphone 4s 32gb, Apple tv 3rd gen
Im looking to star making music on my MacBook Pro and i do not want to use garage band.
so what would you guys say is the best music production soft wear out there for a mac?

OP
I
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13in MacBook Pro 2.8ghz i7 8gb ram, iphone 3gs 16gb, iphone 4 32gb, iphone 4s 32gb, Apple tv 3rd gen
]Im looking to start making music on my MacBook Pro and i do not want to use garage band.
so what would you guys say is the best music production soft wear out there for a mac?

C

chas_m

Just for future reference: "software"

Anyway, I'm not an expert on this so my opinion is probably worth little, but I do have a lot of musician friends ranging from local bands to the guys that scored that commercial or movie trailer you like.

From them, I get the impression that Pro Tools is still the king of the mountain, and that Logic Pro is an excellent but somewhat smaller-scale product. Others will have differing opinions I am sure. :)

robduckyworth

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP, 2.5GHz i7, 750GB, 6770M 1GB, iPad 3, iPhone 4, custom PC
To me, Logic is generally a creation tool, and Pro Tools takes that creation and makes it sound nice.

Bear in mind, both programs have a steep learning curve.

Ves

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro, Late 2011
Take a look at software like Fuityloops, Ableton Live amd Reason. If you have the cash definitely take a look at Machine from Native Instruments.

Reaction score