Understanding iMac system??

Reaction score
Hey everyone! I'm not very tech savvy, but I'm really trying to understand my computer so that I can manage it properly. Something strange just happened and I really, really need advice, because I am panicking.

I wasn't doing anything special on my computer, I was just looking at furniture on IKEA's website, and all of a sudden the sound of a woman humming came through on my speakers and I heard clicking noises that sounded a bit like a mouse. After about 5-8 seconds, it stopped. I looked on the page for the possibility of an ad, but nothing was on the page. So that's when I proceeded to freak out.

I went into my Connections section and I have a lot of mDNSResponder's. Fourteen to be exact. Only three of them provide an actual local IP address, but they only show a bunch of zeros.. the rest are blank. What is mDNSResponder? How many should I have? And if it should not be there, how do I get rid of it?

I am a bit terrified now that someone is spying on me or something.

C

chas_m

No, nobody is spying on you.

Can you clarify what you mean by "Connections section"? I don't know what that is.

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
That's possible. I have run across a number of pages that start audio or video files playing when you enter a site. Usually it has been an ad for something or product video but it could just as easily be any other audio/video.

Reaction score
I went into my Connections section and I have a lot of mDNSResponder's. Fourteen to be exact. Only three of them provide an actual local IP address, but they only show a bunch of zeros.. the rest are blank. What is mDNSResponder? How many should I have? And if it should not be there, how do I get rid of it?

This is the reason for my answer. Never said it had anything to do with the sounds.

Shop Amazon