Logic 9 keeps stating low memory (details inside)

Reaction score
Hi. Total noob to the forums, desperate to find answers. Not sure where i was ment to post this topic, due to it being a mix of a few different sections (if a moderator feels this is better placed elsewhere, ive no issues you moving it). Id used PC all my life until a year ago i moved to Mac, so im always finding new stuff out.

Anyway.

I run a mid 2010 Imac, I3 processor (3.2ghz), 21.5 inch screen etc. Ive used Logic 9 express for over a year with no problems. Recently as ive gotten better at using this software ive added applications to it, those being Superior drummer 2.0 and Amplitube 3. Now this is where the problems have started, since using Amplitube 3. Ill set up my tracks as usual, ill set amplitube 3 up per guitar track, record my audio all good. But as it goes on, the more i do, the more it starts complaining "Memory is getting low". Now its got to the point where it has to shut it down automatically due to no more memory.

So i thought, well im only using 4gb of RAM, ill upgrade and my issues should be solved. So ive put 16gb (which is maximum to this machine) of memory in. Exactly the same thing is happening, no difference at all. Ive checked in the "about this mac" section... its recognising my new hardware.

Even with the amplitube settings set to low quality, same issues are cropping up. My hard drive space is still pretty huge, it came with a terabyte, ive got 828.85 gb still free.

What am i doing wrong guys?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBookPro 11,2 <--DAW!!!
under utilities, click on the activity monitor.app. see what processes/applications you have running and stop them (*USE CAUTION!!) while running logic.

C

chas_m

I don't know much about Logic, but the first thing I'd do is check to see that you're on the latest update of Logic and AmpliTube.

OP
M
Reaction score
Hey guys, thanks for the info.