Not a "Switcher" yet...

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a computer tech and have been a Windows user ever since I learned how to operate a computer back in 1994. I have recently been very intrigued by Apple computers and the "Apple" way of life. This has led me to do a bit of research about them and I have recently had the opportunity to use one for a few days.

Having said all of this, I am not convinced that there are sound reasons for me to even begin to "switch" from a Windows user to a Mac user. The most compelling reason that I have for not buying a Mac computer is obviously their considerable price tag. I can buy a decent (medium performance) laptop which is capable of running the latest version of Windows 7 Professional for under $500.

My next reason for not switching yet is that I simply do not see how it is possible to run and "accomplish" all of the daily tasks that I perform using my Windows computer (without running a Windows emulator on a Mac, which defeats the point of owning a Mac in the first place).

I welcome any thoughts and suggestions.

Robert

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
First, Welcome to the Mac Forums.

Many of us have been (and still are) Windows users. If you're convinced that a Mac is too expensive for you, and that you think you can't accomplish all your daily tasks without running Windows on the Mac, then, I strongly suggest you remain with Windows and purchase a Win machine instead.

If you would like to experiment on the Mac platform to see what it's really like, perhaps a second hand older Intel Mac might be something you can pick up to play around with.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD