First Time Mac-er

Reaction score
If you could teach a newbie one thing (or more) about her new Mac, what would it be?

I've been using Windows for over 10 years and just bought my first iMac. I've had it about 24 hours and I'm so frustrated I could cry or throw it out the window. I don't want to give up just yet but I'm struggling here.

Teach me some stuff, please :p

Tara ;D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac, late 2012 model, 21"
Give us a hand here. What are you struggling with? What are you trying to do that seems so hard on the Mac?

OP
T
Reaction score
Well, first off, I am experienced with Windows. For example:

1. When I do something I didn't mean to do, I just hit Control+Z and it undoes it. Mac, no idea what to do.

2. I usually have 8-10 windows minimized at a time on the PC and just click the tab at the bottom to navigate through, no idea on the Mac.

3. I'm used to right clicking for a menu to come up when hovering over an icon, can't do that on the Mac.

I'm sure there will be more, let's start with those!

OP
T
Reaction score
Oh, can't find how to select all the pictures I just migrated onto the Mac in order to put it in one file.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15

1. When I do something I didn't mean to do, I just hit Control+Z and it undoes it. Mac, no idea what to do.

2. I usually have 8-10 windows minimized at a time on the PC and just click the tab at the bottom to navigate through, no idea on the Mac.

3. I'm used to right clicking for a menu to come up when hovering over an icon, can't do that on the Mac.

My questions would be:

- What were your reasons for switching to a Mac?
- How much experience did you have with Macintosh computers & the Mac OS before your purchase?

- Nick

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iPod Classic 80G, iPod Touch 4th Gen 64G, iPhone 4s 64G, iPad 2 16G, MacBook Pro 13" 2.8Ghz 8G 750HD
Welcome Tara!