using floppies with osx

Reaction score
As a newbie, I'll try to make this question as simple as I can. I am using a mac mini with osx 10.6.8. I've downloaded some midi files that I would like to play on my Kawai 170 concert performer digital piano. Problem is the piano has only a floppy disc drive. I have a VST USB Floppy Drive connected to the mac mini. Whenever I insert a disc and try to copy the files to the floppy, it doesn't work. I get a circle with a line through it which tells me that it's not going to copy to the floppy disc. Does anyone know how I can get the midi files from the mac mini to the floppy disc so they'll play on my piano? This is my very first day as a forum member and I would appreciate any help. I did a search for floppy disc and osx, but no hits.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I have a VST USB Floppy Drive connected to the mac mini.

First thing I would verify is what Mac OS versions are compatible with this USB floppy drive. Then compare that to the OS you have installed on your Mac-Mini.

- Nick

Reaction score
Also, have you formatted the floppies? Probably as FAT32 for the piano.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Agreed with Cradom. I know for sure I ran my external USB floppy on one of my Snow Leopard machine before. Try opening Disk Utility and formatting the floppies. I agree try FAT32 as most things can recognize that for sure. Also a PC would format it in FAT32 also. Get back to us.

OP
G
Reaction score
Using floppies with osx