• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

iMac TV

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21.5" iMac 3.06 I3, 16Gig Ram, OSX 10.6.8
I'm new to Apple products. I recently made a leap of faith and sold my best friend my last Windows based PC. I have been very impressed with my iMac, iPad and iPod Nano. Apple products just simply rock.

I am desperately wanting someone, anyone, to come out with affordable streaming TV over the internet. I'm not referring to Netflix or Hulu I'm hoping for full content available using your computer and a fast broadband connection. I've read a number of articles on Apple's attempt to come out with a new iMac with this capability before developing TVs that are internet ready.

Does anyone know the state of this technology? How close are we to be able to cancel our uber-expensive Comcast cable service? I will have a huge grin on my face when I can call and cancel their service.

C

chas_m

There's nothing on the horizon that will replace cable fully. There's just not enough bandwidth now for everyone to jump to a system like what you're envisioning.