How to get picture files to external harddrive.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac , iPad , MBP, iPod
I have done a search, but not found my problem. I have a 2 T Harddrive for time machine. I would also like to safe all my photos on a separate hardrive. When I tried to move a folder to that drive it said not enough permission. I am new to my Imac and new to the world of macs. Is there some thing I have to set up?

OP
E
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac , iPad , MBP, iPod
I have done a search, but not found my problem. I have a 2 T Harddrive for time machine. I would also like to safe all my photos on a separate hardrive. When I tried to move a folder to that drive it said not enough permission. I am new to my Imac and new to the world of macs. Is there some thing I have to set up?

I should have also said that the other drive was one I used with windows. My nephew told me I need to get a new one dedicated to mac.

C

chas_m

I think what you're saying is that you have a SECOND external hard drive (not the one for Time Machine) that you want to move some stuff to, but you're getting a permissions error, is that right?

The reason you're getting a permissions error is that the drive you're using is formatted for Windows using NTFS, which Macs can read but can't natively write to. you can just reformat the drive for Mac in Disk Utility. Ask us if you're not sure how.

I should point out that your iPhoto library (or pictures folder if you're not using iPhoto for some reason) is already being backed up by Time Machine, so you don't REALLY need to back them up again on another drive unless you want to (which is perfectly okay, there's no such thing as too many backups).

OP
E
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac , iPad , MBP, iPod