• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Buying a new workstation specifically for FCPX

Reaction score
Hello,

I've been working with FCPX for a few months now at my job and have decided to shop around for a new workstation for my home studio.

Perhaps you can share some suggestions on what type of Mac would best work for my situation.

I have a budget of around $2000.

At my job, I've been using FCPX on a 2011 27" iMac 3.2Ghz Single-Core i3, and the program runs ok (now that we've upgrade to 16gb of ram and they've also updated the software) The program does lag, but its not so bad.

However, the other day I was working on a friend's 2010 8-core MacPro with 14gb of ram, and it was just blazing fast. FCPX never lagged. I was very impressed and enjoyed the experience.

For myself, I was considering a 21.5" or 27" iMac quad-core, which I understand I can upgrade to 32gb of ram (aftermarket ram). But, I'd also like to consider a 15" MacBook Pro Quad-core that I could pick up a larger display for later on when I have more funds. I'm just concerned the MacBook Pro will not perform as well for the long-run.