Newbie has a question

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Mac book pro,2.4 dual core I5, 4Gig ram, OS X
I am a total newbie to the new Mac Pro. Last time I have had an Apple experience with late 70s early 80s with an Apple IIe. Both the IIe and early Mac (a small rectangle with a tiny screen) did not require operating instructions, they were pretty simple. Then I switched to the darkside beginning with W95 and on up. Now I am back with a Mac Pro that I've bought myself as a late Christmas gift. I am keeping the windows separate and have no plans to run windows on the Mac.
I have had it a cupola days and would like some info that did not come in the box. I was pretty disappointed wit the Hello book and would liked to have had some more basic information, like whatever everything means and how to do simple tasks.
So I am asking for recommendations for a starter manual like Mac for Dummies or a similar title that has more than the, how to turn it on instructions. Your recommendations?
My first problem was running You Tube videos. I got a message that I needed to upgrade Adobe Flash to 10. Didn't work even though I deleted the previous version. Never did like anything Adobe did. Is there a video player similar to Media Player Classic that works well with Mac?
I understand Mac pretty much runs by itself and does not need constant fixing like W. I hope that a good "how to" manual will answer my getting started inquiries and I am looking forward to your suggestions. And yes, I read your getting started with Mac sticky. Thanks, Jim

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
Welcome back to the family. I'm sure we can provide a few answers to your questions.