I am a new user to MacBook Pro, but this has made me nervous

Reaction score
I am really not new to the computer. I have used PC for years. But now I got a MBP as the work computer. I have no experience for Mac OS X or Unix. Any good tips for the new Mac user? I do not need games or other fancy things. I just want this Mac can run stably and not mess my work. I tried to learn something from this article Tips to Keep Mac at Peak Performance, but got more confusion. I am a PC user for years. I know junk files can make the Windows system ugly. But is this the same to the Mac? I asked my colleague, he could not give me the clear answer either.
Any tips will be appreciated. Thanks.

C

chas_m

You can stop being afraid. Macs aren't Windows machines.

Have a look at the essay linked in my signature.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 15" 2014, 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OSX 10.9.5 - iPhone 5s 16gb
Hello Skyrim,

The OS used on macs is alot cleaner and alot more stable than the Windows platform. But saying this there are a few things to keep your MBP in good working order.

1: If you install a program or app that comes with an un-installer and you want to get rid of that program, then always use the uninstaller that comes with it.

2: You can use Disk Utility once a month to repair permissions on files, this will help keep your mac running smoothly. This can be found in Applications > Utilities > Disk Utility. Just go to the First Aid tab and click Repair Disk Permissions.

3: A program called Onyx is very helpful for checking you hdd for errors, fixing them and other useful features. It's free and helps with optimisation and maintenance of your system. This can be found here

4: Keep your system updated. Click the Apple symbol in the top left of your screen then click the "Software Update..." option, this will check for any OS and other updates that are available.

Hope this helps