Is an audio interface the answer I'm looking for?

Reaction score
Hi all,
newbie here so be nice.

Bought an iMac to start recording with garageband. All was good till my bass arrived and I tried recording the same method i used for my guitar (direct with cable into 1\4 1\8 adapter to line in).

Bass recordings have no real volume whatsoever. After reading forums like this I've gathered (possibly wrongly) this is due to passive pick ups and low signal levels?

To solve this and improve the quality of my guitar recordings, from what I've read, it seems I need an audio interface or pre amp.

Only looking at spending around £100 but man is there a lot choice!!

Looked at M Audio fast track and Behringer Fca 202 (read it has no in-built pre amp though??). Also could effects pedals/units like the Line 6 pods be of any use?

Only recording for myself for fun so new to this and know little, any help be welcomed

Thanks

Reaction score
You have many choices to get your bass recorded to your Mac I'll give you one choice to get you started but I suggest you do more searching and that way you can make an informed decision on what you need to record audio to your Mac. Like I said below is just one of hundreds of choices some cheaper some more expensive. Let me know if you have any more specific questions.

here is some basic info on the unit and you can read more about it here.
PreSonus AudioBox USB 2X2 USB Recording System: Shop Pro Audio & Other Musical Instruments | Musician's Friend