Xcode 4.2 - Absolute Beginner

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" MBP 2.4GHz iPhone 3GS
Hi everyone,

I recently got a Macbook and I was thinking of developing iPhone apps. The problem is that I've never done any serious programming...like ever!

I've played around a little bit with some Windows programming e.g. visual basic, and I know a bit about developing websites eg html/css/java etc ( I used w3schools to learn and develop a website).

But that was all just out of interest to see get a taster of what programming is like. Now I have a Mac I'm serious about learning C, and objective-C and making an iPhone app.

Now, dont get me wrong, I'm not just another person who downloaded Xcode and thought that making an app is an easy way to make money, I know it isn't, that it's going to take me hundreds of hours to learn it and many more to develop an app.

Anyway, I went over to the iOS Dev Centre to do some reading, but it usually presumes that the reader has had programming experience, and in particular with C.

So to get started, for example, I need a good source to learn about C. After that Objective-C, I guess? After that I need to understand what Cocoa is. etc and after all of that I need to learn how to use Xcode 4.2. (I understand that Apple implemented some new features in 4.2).

Does anyone know of a good learning path for learning how to develop iPhone apps then? What topics must I learn in order to gain the knowledge to use Xcode properly?

Or maybe someone could recommend a good website which highlights how to go from being a complete beginner to being able to develop some decent apps?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

OP
H
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I suppose another way to ask it is: If you are currently an app developer, how did you get to the stage you are at now, starting from when you were an absolute beginner?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.8 GHz i7 MBA 11" OSX 10.8.2
Two really good places to start.
Cocoa Dev Central