AHHHH! I think I broke it

Reaction score
I just updated my power mac g5 with OSX 10.4.3 from 10.4.2 And then my computer asked to restart and I clicked yes, but then it said finder caused the restart to stop so I clicked ok and then tried to manually do it. BUt nothing was responding so I had to hold down the power button to turn it off.

Now when I want to turn it on, the grey apple screen comes up with the little grey swirling progress bar and it will go for ever and never boot into OSX. Also the scarier part is my fans begin to spin so loud that it sounds like my computer will explode! Not really, but verry loud.

Please Help Me, I am fairly new to the macworld, can I boot from my tiger CD?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
12" 1Ghz PB 768Mb 10.4.5 30Gb Video iPod 40Gb 3G iPod 1Gb iPod Shuffle
just bear with it mate mine took a good 10mins to reboot after that update. Just let it run and go make a drink.

I think that its still up dating at that point hence it taking so long

Reaction score
boarderjosh10 said:
I left it for a lot longer then 10 minutes and it still hangs up

I have seen a couple of messages saying that Spotlight did it's thing when they rebooted. It didn't do it to either of my machines, but it is possible that it might be spotlight indexing your drives... just on the off chance it is, give it a good 20 to 30 minutes, especially if you have large drives and lots of files. If it doesn't boot on up to desktop in that time, then it is probably another problem.

M

Merlinblack

insert your tiger CD and hold the c key (on a keyboard that is attached to your machine ie. not bluetooth) while it is booting up you should come to the install/set-up stuff.

Do an archive and install and it will archive your old files and install a fresh copy of OS X for you. Sounds to me like it blew up during the update and something got changed improperly (not a word?). a re-install and re-update should fix it.

Good luck!