Help Please Trying to update software

Reaction score
I am new to Apple computers and I have an I-mac. I went for one to one training today and asked for help on how to use the cloud from my 2 year old 3G iPhone. I was told that I must first update the software in my phone. Right now I am using Version 4.3 software in the i phone. The instructor told me that I should go to iTunes and connect the iPhone to the iMac and upgrade the iPhone system software to the MAC OSX Lion software. I am afraid that I am going to screw this computer up or somehow, mess up the phone. I have never updated any of the software on the phone since I've owned it. I am about to go to iTunes and attempt to synchronize both the phone and the iMac. Any advise would be appreciated. Thanks, CapnFred

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Can't help until know what model machine and the operating system sorry.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 17" 2011, 2.3GHz Intel Quad-Core i7, 8GB RAM, MacMini 2011, 2.7GHz Intel Dual-Core i7, 8GB RAM
The phone os is not the same as the PC os. your iPhone will not ever be able to be upgraded to Lion. Only the PC.

Make sure you have the latest version of iTunes on the PC then plug in the iPhone and open iTunes and have iTunes do the phone os update to iOS 5.0.1.

Oh, and the phone could not be 2 years old and have the 4.3 iOS on it if you have never updated the phone. iOS 4 came out last November, if I remember correctly, so someone updated your phone since you got it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Late 2011 MBP,iPad '3' 32gb,iPhone4 32gb
As Harry has said, it's going to be difficult to assist you without knowing your machine and OS.

Couple of things to make sure of though - You say that you are going to upgrade the iPhone software to OSX Lion. You can't. I'm sure you're aware of this but Lion is a Mac OS, what you're wanting is iOS5.