cloning and restoring bootcamp

Reaction score
so i have figured out how i can clone my bootcamp partition very easily (disk utility in mac osx onto external harddrive) but how do i restore that on a new computers bootcamp utilty via external hard drive? also will the clone be exactly like the old partition? will all my documents and programs still be there? if u cant tell already i am not very experienced with computers but i am good enough that i was able to partition and do all that. when you reply just keep in mind my experience level. thanks everyone

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Yet to get any form of cloning Windows 7 to work. Just do a clean install and run Bootcamp from within OS X and allow Bootcamp to set up and format the partition.

OP
S
Reaction score
ok im a little confused... i re installed bootcamp and made a partition on my new computer. how do i use the clone on my external hard drive to restore it onto my new partition? in other words, i have a clone now, what do i do with it to restore it onto my partition????

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
i made a clone with carbon copy cloner. what do i do now???

To make an image of Windows 7 you either have to use the Windows 7 built in imaging software or you can use WinClone which doesn't always work right.

Carbon Copy Cloner does not copy Boot Camp partitions, it only works for cloning HFS Extended Journaled partitions.

At this point in time, I would take Harry's advice and start over.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
And let Bootcamp make the partition. And Winclone has never worked yet in three or four tries, and is no longer supported by the developers.

OP
S
Reaction score