Think before you switch...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MAC Pro, ESX server, & 17" G4 Powerbook
I am a recently switched over user (9 Months). I went from using Windows to using a MAC. I am a network engineer with over 10 yrs exp (Citrix). Now before I start I love my MAC (Powerbook G4 17") and would not give it up. However I have found that using MAC OS X has it's issues. For instance I turned on File-Vault which I sincerely regret as since I enabled it my iTunes have been corrupted twice in less than one month. I lost all my playlists but not my music. I had to recreate my playlists both times and now with Backup 3.0 opposed to Backup 2.0 you can now backup the playlists. Yeah finally... File Vault has seem to causes serious issues and personally from my own experience I would not recommend turing it on.... I have other issues as well with iPhoto. File-Vault constantly has to "Recover unused disk space" during power down of your mac, which adds to a long power off. Total joke.

As for gaming support no need to even comment :blind:

Tiger... I first had Panther on my powerbook than upgraded to Tiger. Not only did all my VPN software stop functioning, Virtual PC's, (switched networking) Some other Apps did not function, needless to say the upgrade path from 10.3 to 10.4 was not very thought out by Apple. Half the 3rd party stuff did not work. So I had to go back to Panther. When upgrading Windows is far simplier and I have had far more success when upgrading Windows opposed to MAC OS X. Especially being able to rely that my apps will work...

Stability... This has been disapponting to say the least. Sorry Mac fans WindowsXP is very stable and my Windows XP workstation has been far more stable from an OS perspective than MAC OS X 10.4.2. However the MAC has far less updates, spyware, and viruses to worry about etc.