I'm new to the "Mac Life" and wondering about these products...

Reaction score
Hello, I'm not terribly educated with computers and networking, but I've been working on an older MacBook Pro for about 1.5 years, have had iPhones and iPods since they were originally released, and now I'm looking to basically convert all computers and networked devices I own over to Apple products.

I have a home music studio, which I'm going to be purchasing a Mac Mini for my professional purposes, while using this MacBook Pro for general surfing, lounging around, etc. I'm interested in a Mac Pro later on, depending on what changes are coming in the follow 1-2 years with it's design, and also some key items that are changing in the studio (T. I'm also looking at an iPad for some synchronized applications for the studio, while still having it for some personal use. I'm even considering replacing my girlfriend's laptop with a MacBook Air for Christmas, since she's been playing around with one at Best Buy, which we're at almost weekly.

So I'm wondering about some Apple products, how they can be used, any other interesting information, and how they integrate into a complete home network. It would be appreciated if someone could fill me in on any rumors about upgrades coming in 2012, especially with the advent of Thunderbolt technology. I've read the website and done some Google searching, but I'm slow and behind the times when it comes to computer technology.

AirPort Extreme - I understand this is a router, but what would be the benefit of using this instead of the provided router/modem from my ISP? Would I need to link the provided modem into the AirPort Extreme, or does it function as a modem itself? Is this necessary for a home network with almost all Apple products, or is a Netgear or other brand router good enough? Perhaps the Airport Extreme is faster or stronger connection than standard routers?