iMac will not boot up

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to Macs after many years with PCs. I have an older iMac (white plastic) updated to Snow Leopard without any problems until now. It froze whilst downloading latest iPhone update through iTunes last night. I forced a shutdown with the button on back of screen.

Today, it will not boot up, help!

After pressing the button, it chimes, then grey apple logo and spinning ball. At that point I get a strange screen, see picture.

photo.jpg

I have tried starting in safe mode and it runs without probelm, although there is a pattern beneath the cursor.

Can someone help please?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Have you been using Time Machine to make backups? If you have, try restoring to a point in time before you downloaded the iPhone update. No backups? Run the Apple Hardware Test. Let's see if it indicates what's not working.

OP
C
Reaction score
No back ups, ha. I shall follow your suggestion and come back with the result, thank you.

OP
C
Reaction score
Mmmmm. Well, attempted to run this test. Machine will only run in safe mode, which means that with the required restart from the installation cd, the computer will not restart! There is just a constant noise from the cd drive.

C

chas_m

No backups? Well, I'm not going to beat you up any more than you're already beating yourself up, but basically it's time to take that machine to an authorised Mac tech and hope for the best.

OP
C
Reaction score
Sorry, been away for a few days. In safe mode I can back up any files and data I need, but I can't obviously restore to a previous date.

C

chas_m

So are you saying that in safe mode the computer works normally and doesn't have any graphic glitches like what you photographed?

OP
C
Reaction score
It works in safe mode, but not quite normally. There is a faint shadow by the cursor, please see below.

photo3.jpg