Free Up HD Space?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17" Macbook Pro 2.5Ghz; 20" iMac 2Ghz, all Leopard
Where's the best place to get help freeing up HD space?
I have 3G left available on my HD.
I have two Library folders. One with over 50G and one with 4 Gig and I don't know why or what I can or cannot do with them. Obviously I'm new at this. Thanks for your patience.

ps. what does "post a poll" mean?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to the Mac Forums.

I always advise new users not to attempt to free up hard drive space simply because in the process, they may wind up doing harm. (Removing needed files and folders)

The best advice I can give you is to purchase a larger internal hard drive or as an alternative an external hard drive to move things like music and photos to.

You didn't provide us with any info about your Mac or which version of OS X you're using, so what I've replied to you is generic.

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
+1 to what Chscag posted.

In additon, if you do delete anything, generally the best place to start is the Download folder.

EDIT: Also, since you said you were new. If you haven't emptied the Trash, you haven't gained back any disk space by deleting files.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
I have two Library folders. One with over 50G and one with 4 Gig and I don't know why or what I can or cannot do with them.

You don't mention your OS version. I have three Library folders in Leopard. Don't mess with them! The advice above is on the mark: hardware that matches your needs.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" MacBook Pro i5 / 4GB / 250GB
You could always try monolingual - it frees up space by removing localization files.

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs