Upgrading Mac Minis

Reaction score
I have an older Mac Mini that runs Leopard and I am about to purchase a new Mac Mini running Lion. I searched a bit but still haven't been able to get some definitive answers as to how best to migrate. Any help would be much appreciated...

- Should I use the Migration Assistant or Setup? I have heard people say Migration Assistant will create an unwanted user; Is this true?

- I have two external drives: one for Time Machine and one that holds all of my media (including the iTunes library file). Should I use Time Machine to migrate or connect the two machines directly?

- Will the external media drive present any issues, particularly with the iTunes library file living there?

- Is there anything else I should know or am overlooking?

Thanks as I have never done this before and would like to be sure I am doing it right before purchasing the new machine.

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
I have an older Mac Mini that runs Leopard and I am about to purchase a new Mac Mini running Lion. I searched a bit but still haven't been able to get some definitive answers as to how best to migrate. Any help would be much appreciated...

- Should I use the Migration Assistant or Setup? I have heard people say Migration Assistant will create an unwanted user; Is this true?

- I have two external drives: one for Time Machine and one that holds all of my media (including the iTunes library file). Should I use Time Machine to migrate or connect the two machines directly?

- Will the external media drive present any issues, particularly with the iTunes library file living there?

- Is there anything else I should know or am overlooking?

Thanks as I have never done this before and would like to be sure I am doing it right before purchasing the new machine.

Connect the two Macs with a firewire cable and boot the older Mac holding down the "T" key and use Migration Assistant.